Food : Brussels sprouts and bacon skillet pizza

20141015-024709.jpg

This pizza recipe is one of the best things that has ever happened to dinner time at my house.

I know I sound hyperbolic, but I swear, it’s true.

This pizza is revolutionary.

How Sweet Eats is a genius (follow the link to get to the recipe, y’all).

I’ve made it twice in the past week & god damn, the Brussels sprouts & bacon are fantastic with the cheese blend she uses. I’m not sure that it would have occurred to me to put those things on a pizza, but I’m glad it occurred to someone.

{don’t balk at the Brussels sprouts. All those horrible things you heard about them growing up? All lies.}

As much as I love this topping combo, the real brilliance is the method. You make your dough, which in itself is a super easy recipe; stretch it out; top it & slide it into a preheated, oven safe skillet. Then you put the skillet underneath the broiler for 3-4 minutes & it’s done.

It’s the best home made pizza I’ve ever had.

I’ve been dreaming up new topping combinations to try—I’m thinking that next up is spinach, pears, Bleu cheese & walnuts.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

xxx

Leave a Reply

